Premier League ‘big six’ set to be punished after Super League fiasco

The six Premier League sides who signed up to the disgraced European Super League are now close to reaching an agreement with the Premier League over a punishment, according to reports. The fiasco, led by Joel Glazer and lasted just 48 hours, has been heavily criticized and the founding clubs are now set to be sanctioned.

The botched breakaway league is now set to cost the clubs ‘millions’, as they prepare to face the remaining 14 clubs in the Premier League with their tail between their legs.

According to The Times, the Premier League is close to agreeing to a settlement with the six clubs over sanctions but they will not face a point deduction.

The report claims that none of the clubs, Manchester United, Arsenal, Manchester City, Liverpool, Chelsea and Tottenham, have entered into legal proceedings with the league and are instead vying to reach a peaceful conclusion.

It is also claimed that some of the 14 Premier League clubs had wanted harsher sanctions, including points deductions, league chiefs are understood to be settling on a financial settlement.

Read more: Manchester United announce new head of player development

More Stories Joel Glazer Manchester United Premier League Super League