Disappointment as Man Utd have only one player featured in 50-man shortlist for Team of the Year

UEFA’s 50-man shortlist for Team of the Year consists of just one Manchester United player.

Marseille, Roma and Tottenham all have more nominees than the Reds…

Paul Pogba is the only United player shortlisted for the award, while David de Gea is sure to be disappointed that he did not make the 50-man list which includes five goalkeepers. We can only put that down to a bad World Cup campaign with Spain, which saw the 2010 champions underperform and crash out of the tournament prematurely.

People may question whether Pogba deserves to be featured in the 50-man list, as his club form would suggest he doesn’t warrant such a feat, though he was instrumental in France’s successful World Cup this summer.

READ MORE: Man Utd lead race to sign £90m-rated French midfielder; renowned for precise passing, drive and creativity

However, Romelu Lukaku surely deserves to be in with a chance considering the year he had before gaining so much muscle he can hardly move.

Chelsea and Tottenham both have two players nominated with N’Golo Kante, Eden Hazard, Harry Kane and Hugo Lloris.

The 50-man shortlist – as per The Sun


ALISSON (Liverpool/Brazil), HUGO LLORIS (Tottenham/France), KEYLOR NAVAS (Real Madrid/Costa Rica), JAN OBLAK (Atletico Madrid/Slovenia), MARC-ANDRE TER STEGEN (Barcelona/Germany)


VIRGIL VAN DIJK (Liverpool/Netherlands), RAPHAEL VARANE (Real Madrid/France), SERGIO RAMOS (Real Madrid/Spain), MARCELO (Real Madrid/Brazil), DIEGO GODIN (Atletico Madrid/Uruguay), GIORGIO CHIELLINI (Juventus/Italy), SAMUEL UMTITI (Barcelona/France), JORDI ALBA (Barcelona/Spain), KALIDOU KOULIBALY (Napoli/Senegal), KOSTAS MANOLAS (Roma/Greece), LUCAS HERNANDEZ (Atletico Madrid/France), JOSE MARIA GIMENEZ (Atletico Madrid/Uruguay), GERARD PIQUE (Barcelona/Spain), JOSHUA KIMMICH (Bayern Munich/Germany), JOHN STONES (Manchester City/England)


LUKA MODRIC (Real Madrid/Croatia), N’GOLO KANTE (Chelsea/France), KEVIN DE BRUYNE (Manchester City/Belgium), JAMES MILNER (Liverpool/England), CASEMIRO (Real Madrid/Brazil), ISCO (Real Madrid/Spain), TONI KROOS (Real Madrid/Germany), PAUL POGBA (Manchester United/France), IVAN RAKITIC (Barcelona/Croatia), DAVID SILVA (Manchester City/Spain), MIRALEM PJANIC (Juventus/Bosnia), SAUL NIGUEZ (Atletico Madrid/Spain), EDEN HAZARD (Chelsea/Belgium), DIMITRI PAYET (Marseille/France), FLORIAN THAUVIN (Marseille/France)


LIONEL MESSI (Barcelona/Argentina), CRISTIANO RONALDO (Juventus/Portugal), SADIO MANE (Liverpool/Senegal), KYLIAN MBAPPE (Paris Saint-Germain/France), NEYMAR (Paris Saint-Germain/Brazil), ANTOINE GRIEZMANN (Atletico Madrid/France), HARRY KANE (Tottenham/England), MOHAMED SALAH (Liverpool/Egypt), ROBERTO FIRMINO (Liverpool/Brazil), EDIN DZEKO (Roma/Bosnia), ROBERT LEWANDOWSKI (Bayern Munich/Poland), PAULO DYBALA (Juventus/Argentina), LUIS SUAREZ (Barcelona/Uruguay), EDINSON CAVANI (Paris Saint-Germain/Uruguay), GARETH BALE (Real Madrid/Wales)

More Stories Manchester United Paul Pogba