Menu

Mark Noble says Jesse Lingard dived to win penalty in Carabao Cup clash

Mark Noble has hit out at his former team-mate Jesse Lingard after Manchester United were eliminated by West Ham in this season’s rendition of the Carabao Cup.

The two sides met just four days after that dramatic Premier League encounter at the London Stadium, where Lingard was very much the main character.

The 28-year-old was introduced from the bench and scored the winner in the 89th-minute against his former side, whilst West Ham captain Mark Noble was brought on to do the same just minutes later. David Moyes’ side had won a penalty but Noble saw his penalty comfortably saved by David de Gea.

Noble has now hit out at Lingard after the Carabao Cup meeting at Old Trafford, claiming the Manchester United star dived to win a penalty in the first half.

Read more: BBC pundit delivers damning verdict on Man United attacker’s performance vs. West Ham

“That’s football, he dived and I told him [off] for screaming, funnily enough, he didn’t really do it at our place but he does it here,”  he told Sky Sports, according to Football.London.

“We had a laugh on the pitch today, I love Jesse, he’s a great character and I’m so pleased he’s come [back] here and getting his chance, he’s scored some fantastic goals obviously the one against us was hurtful, he’s a great lad and he deserves everything he gets.”

The incident in question saw Lingard brought down by Noble inside West Ham’s penalty box but United’s appeals were quickly waved away by referee Jon Moss.

More Stories Jesse Lingard Manchester United Mark Noble Premier League West Ham

Comments are closed.