Two senior players miss out after Man United confirm final 25-man Premier League squad for 2020-21 campaign

Manchester United have officially announced their final 25-man squad for the 2020-21 Premier League season with defender Phil Jones and goalkeeper Sergio Romero both failing to make the cut.

United officially announced this season’s domestic squad on with Jones and Romero’s exclusions being the most notable selection choices.

The Reds’ announcement comes in light of both players being subjected to much speculation surrounding their long-term futures with Jones reportedly set to move on in January, as per The Sun.

Elsewhere, United’s third-choice keeper was close to joining domestic rivals Everton on deadline day earlier this summer after journalist Gianluca Dimarzio reported the Argentinian shot-stopper was a late target for Carlo Ancelotti’s side.

United’s full 25-man squad list features the following players.

Main squad list:

David De Gea – Goalkeeper
Eric Bailly – Defender
Victor Lindelof – Defender
Marcos Rojo – Defender
Alex Telles – Defender
Nemanja Matic – Midfielder
Juan Mata – Midfielder
Donny van de Beek – Midfielder
Fred – Midfielder
Bruno Fernandes – Midfielder
Odion Ighalo – Striker
Anthony Martial – Striker
Edinson Cavani – Striker

British home-grown squad list:

Dean Henderson – Goalkeeper
Lee Grant – Goalkeeper
Timothy Fosu-Mensah – Defender
Harry Maguire – Defender
Axel Tuanzebe – Defender
Luke Shaw – Defender
Aaron Wan-Bissaka – Defender
Scott McTominay – Midfielder
Jesse Lingard – Midfielder
Daniel James – Midfielder
Paul Pogba – Midfielder
Marcus Rashford – Striker

The above lists do not feature under-21 players or players from the club’s academy. Teden Mengi (defender), Brandon Williams (defender), Mason Greenwood (striker) and new-signing Facundo Pellistri (midfielder) have all been included in the Reds’ under-21s squad list.

Read more: Exclusive: Scout who brought Bruno Fernandes to Sporting Lisbon gives glowing Man United captaincy prediction

More Stories Manchester United Phil Jones Sergio Romero