Manchester United announce squad for US Tour 2011

Manchester United will take a 21-man squad to the United States on Monday with another six players expected to join at a later date. Our newest signings were also given their squad numbers: David de Gea will wear 1, Phil Jones 4 and Ashley Young 18.

Chris Smalling, Danny Welbeck, Tom Cleverley, David de Gea, Phil Jones and Javier Hernandez will meet up with their teammates at their agreed leave time due to their extended seasons with Spain, England and Mexico in international competitions, such as the U-21 European Championship and CONCACAF Gold Cup.

The provisional squad, subject to change during the event of training injuries etc:

Goalkeepers: Anders Lindegaard, Ben Amos, Sam Johnstone
Defenders: Rafael, Fabio, Nemanja Vidic, Jonny Evans, Patrice Evra, Rio Ferdinand
Midfielders: Michael Carrick, Nani, Anderson, Ryan Giggs, Ji-sung Park, Gabriel Obertan
Forwards: Mame Biram Diouf, Federico Macheda, Wayne Rooney, Michael Owen, Dimitar Berbatov, Ashley Young.

For those wondering why Darren Fletcher isn’t traveling – it has been confirmed that he will remain at Carrington, where he will undergo an individualised conditioning programme to improve fitness.

The US Tour kicks off Wednesday against the New England Revolution. For more updates make sure you’re following us on Twitter – @StrettyNews.

More Stories Ashley Young CONCACAF Gold Cup David de Gea Manchester United New England Revolution Phil Jones Social Media Twitter U-21 European Championship US Tour