Marcus Rashford goal decision overturned after Man United win Carabao Cup final

Manchester United have put an end to their six-year wait for a trophy after Erik ten Hag guided his side to a 2-0 win over Newcastle United in the Carabao Cup at Wembley last weekend.

The Reds were in complete control for the majority of the game and when the second goal went in, they were never in any real trouble of letting the lead slip.

Casemiro, who has been one of Europe’s outstanding players since he joined the club last August, scored the first goal before Marcus Rashford’s strike went in after a deflection from Sven Botman.

Initially, Rashford was given the goal but roughly 20 minutes later, at half-time, it was revealed that decision-makers had ruled it to be an own-goal from Botman.

That was the official ruling for the remainder of that day but now, Rashford has been given license to celebrate his 25th goal as the goal has officially been awarded to him.

According to BBC journalist Simon Stone, United have communicated that Rashford has, indeed, been credited with the second goal.

“The club has received clarification that Rashford is indeed the goalscorer as his shot was deemed to be on target by the various match officials at Wembley,” the club is quoted as saying.

That means Rashford has now scored 17 goals in his last 19 appearances in all competitions and he will now be eyeing reaching the 30-goal mark for the first time in his career.

He has the chance to add to his tally in just two days when West Ham make the trip to Old Trafford for the fifth round of the FA Cup.

Rashford was, however, a doubt for the final after picking up a knock in the earlier win over Barcelona. That could mean that Ten Hag decides to rest his talisman, with Jadon Sancho or Alejandro Garnacho likely to replace him.

More Stories carabao cup Manchester United Marcus Rashford Newcastle United