Man Utd: Five squad changes for Europa League knockout phase

Manchester United made five roster changes to the squad that is playing in the Europa Leagues knockout phase later this month, according to the Mirror.

The three additions to manager Ole Gunnar Solskjaer’s side that will face Club Brugge on February 20th are Bruno Fernandes, Nathan Bishop and Odion Ighalo. All three players joined United this month during the winter transfer period.

Prior to the 2018 season, UEFA had rule in place preventing players from representing more than one club per season in European competitions but that rule has been lifted.

READ MORE: January transfer window: Man Utd are reactionary rather than forward thinking

This means that United’s high profile winter signing, Fernandes is eligible to play since he previously was named to Sporting Lisbon’s Europa side at the start of the tournament.

The two roster drop outs are the two United players that left in January; Ashley Young and Marcos Rojo who left for Inter Milan and Estudiantes.

United had until midnight on Monday, February 3 to make changes to their Europa League squad for the knockout stages.

Europa League A list players
Eric Bailly, Diogo Dalot, David De Gea, Bruno Fernandes, Fred, Odion Ighalo, Daniel James, Matej Kovar, Victor Lindelof, Anthony Martial, Juan Mata, Nemanja Matic, Sergio Romero

Club trained players
Jesse Lingard, Scott McTominay, Andreas Pereira, Paul Pogba, Marcus Rashford, Luke Shaw, Axel Tuanzebe.

Association trained
Nathan Bishop, Lee Grant, Phil Jones, Harry Maguire, Aaron Wan-Bissaka.

More Stories Bruno Fernandes Europa League europa league round of 32 Manchester United Odion Ighalo Ole Gunnar Solskaer