Menu

Aston Villa match winner claims Bruno Fernandes penalty miss was justified

Kortney Hause says Bruno Fernandes’ penalty miss during Aston Villa’s 1-0 victory over Manchester United was ‘justice’ as he didn’t think his blatant handball should’ve been given.

What universe is he living on that he doesn’t think his handball wasn’t a fair call? Simply turn the tables and I’m sure he’d be in the referee’s ear…

Hause put Villa in front in the 88th minute when he lost Edinson Cavani on a corner and headed past David de Gea, but late in stoppage-time, the defender conceded a penalty after handling the ball in the box.

A straight-forward decision for the referee, and we don’t hear him discuss how his winning goal was offside but totally ignored by VAR.

Fernandes stepped up from 12 yards after being surrounding by Villa players, but sent his effort way over as Villa collected their first three points at Old Trafford in 12 years.

Speaking to BBC Match o he Day after the game, Hause admitted he felt relieved when Fernandes missed, but didn’t think a penalty should’ve been given in the first place.

“When they gave the penalty I was devastated and fuming with myself,” Hause said, as quoted by the Metro.

“Looking back I didn’t make myself any bigger. I’ve tried to bring my arms in so when Bruno blazed it over the bar I was relieved. I think it was justice in the end because I don’t think it was a penalty.

“The rules are the rules. All we can do as players is play the game and play it well and whatever decision the referees and VAR want to give we have to get on with it.

“We had the better chances. We haven’t really had to defend too tough as a team but we’ve come away with the three points and that’s all that matters. We’re happy.”

On his winning goal, he added: “As soon as it touched my head I knew it was in and hearing the fans scream topped it off.”

More Stories Aston Villa Bruno Fernandes Kortney Hause Manchester United

Comments are closed.