Reintegration begins! UEFA reveal sanctions for nine that left European Super League

UEFA have started a reintegration process for nine of the 12 clubs involved in plans to form a breakaway European Super League. Manchester United are one of the clubs facing sanctions for their involvement.

This includes the loss of 5% of revenue from UEFA competitions for a season – as confirmed via UEFA’s official website.

“I said at the UEFA Congress two weeks ago that it takes a strong organisation admit making a mistake especially in these days of trial by social media. These clubs have done just that,” UEFA President Aleksander Ceferin said.

“In accepting their commitments and willingness to repair the disruption they caused, UEFA wants to put this chapter behind it and move forward in a positive spirit.

“The measures announced are significant, but none of the financial penalties will be retained by UEFA. They will all be reinvested into youth and grassroots football in local communities across Europe, including the UK.”

According to the BBC’s Simon Stone, Joel Glazer will personally pay United’s portion of the €15m fine in an attempt to smooth things over with the fans, but that will be paid from dividends he takes or already has from the club.

Everyone saw the repercussions coming. It just took Barcelona, Juventus and Real Madrid longer to realise because they’re too deep in it.

Read more: Manchester United in talks with Fiorentina star’s entourage over summer move

More Stories Barcelona Juventus Manchester United Real Madrid UEFA