Gareth Southgate’s provisional England squad for Euro 2020 announced

Gareth Southgate has named his England squad for this summer’s European Championship, including six Manchester United players.

The England manager has selected a large 33-strong group but that will need to be culled to 26 by June 1. In previous competitions, managers were only allowed to select 23 players for the European Championships – but it is totally necessary to bring more players this year after the seasons they’ve all endured with fixture congestion and all of the problems that come with that.

Harry Maguire, Luke Shaw, Marcus Rashford, Mason Greenwood and Dean Henderson all make the cut this time around, while Jesse Lingard deserves some recognition too for his performances at West Ham during the second-half of the season.

England will face Croatia, Scotland and the Czech Republic in Group D this summer.

Provisional squad

Dean Henderson, Sam Johnstone, Jordan Pickford, Aaron Ramsdale; Trent Alexander-Arnold, Ben Chilwell, Conor Coady, Ben Godfrey, Reece James, Harry Maguire, Tyrone Mings, Luke Shaw, John Stones, Kieran Trippier, Kyle Walker, Ben White; Jude Bellingham, Jordan Henderson, Jesse Lingard, Mason Mount, Declan Rice, James Ward-Prowse; Dominic Calvert-Lewin, Phil Foden, Jack Grealish, Mason Greenwood, Harry Kane, Marcus Rashford, Bukayo Saka, Jadon Sancho, Raheem Sterling, Ollie Watkins.

Read more: Former Manchester United and Villarreal striker admits heart is torn over Europa League final

More Stories Dean Henderson England Gareth Southgate Harry Maguire Jesse Lingard Luke Shaw Marcus Rashford Mason Greenwood

Comments are closed.