Menu

Video: Retired Premier League referee explains why Palace’s penalty appeal against Man Utd was not a penalty

Retired Premier League referee Dermott Gallagher says Graham Scott and VAR made the right call by not awarding Crystal Palace when Victor Lindelof challenged Wilfried Zaha inside the box.

The incident has caused major controversy with former Aston Villa striker Gabriel Agbonlabor suggesting United have got away with these calls all season.

I wouldn’t go that far, even if my initial viewing of the incident looked like it should have been a penalty.

Gallagher, however, explains via Sky Sports’ The Football Show why Scott made the right call as Lindelof got the ball before the pair fell to ground.

You can watch Gallagher’s explanation below:

Hopefully this doesn’t put referees on the spot and they are strong enough to carry out their job properly for United’s remaining games.

Read more: Fosu-Mensah happy to be back in a winning United side at Selhurst Park

More Stories Crystal Palace Manchester United Victor Lindelof Wilfried Zaha

Comments are closed.