Two Man Utd stars named on FIFA World XI shortlist as Premier League dominates

With the Premier League dominating FIFA FIFPRO World 11 shortlist for the first time since 2009, two Manchester United players have made the cut.

The list consists of 55 players with David de Gea and Paul Pogba representing the Red Devils.

Interestingly as it wasn’t a great year for De Gea, whose standards dropped significantly towards the end of the season when it seemed like he was making mistake after mistake.

READ MORE: Bobby Duncan rejected Man Utd over fears of betraying Liverpool

The Spaniard has yet to put pen to paper over a new deal and with his current contract set to expire next year, I’ve started to feel different about losing him than I would a year ago.

It was a better year for Pogba on the international stage than it was for United. Sure, it was his best season yet in terms of goals contribution but he still wasn’t consistent enough. He will still look back at 2018 fondly after winning the World Cup with France and playing a key role in the final against Croatia.

More than 23,000 professional footballers voted for the 2019 World 11 – selecting 1 goalkeeper, 4 defenders, 3 midfielders and 3 forwards.

The World XI will be revealed on Monday September 23rd during the Best Football Awards which is being held in Milan.

The full list of 55 players as per

Goalkeepers (5)

Alisson Becker (Brazil, Liverpool FC)
David De Gea (Spain, Manchester United)
Ederson Moraes (Brazil, Manchester City)
Jan Oblak (Slovenia, Atletico Madrid)
Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Germany, FC Barcelona)

Defenders (20)

Jordi Alba (Spain, FC Barcelona)
Trent Alexander-Arnold (England, Liverpool FC)
Daniel Alves (Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain/Sao Paulo)
Joao Cancelo (Portugal, Juventus/Manchester City)
Daniel Carvajal (Spain, Real Madrid)
Giorgio Chiellini (Italy, Juventus)
Virgil van Dijk (The Netherlands, Liverpool FC)
Diego Godin (Uruguay, Atletico/Internazionale)
Joshua Kimmich (Germany, Bayern Munich)
Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal, SSC Napoli)
Aymeric Laporte (France, Manchester City)
Matthijs de Ligt (The Netherlands, Ajax/ Juventus)
Gerard Pique (Spain, FC Barcelona)
Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid)
Andrew Robertson (Scotland, Liverpool FC)
Alex Sandro (Brazil, Juventus)
Thiago Silva (Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain)
Raphael Varane (France, Real Madrid)
Marcelo Vieira (Brazil, Real Madrid)
Kyle Walker (England, Manchester City

Midfielders (15)

Sergio Busquets (Spain, FC Barcelona)
Casemiro (Brazil, Real Madrid)
Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium, Manchester City)
Christian Eriksen (Denmark, Tottenham Hotspur)
Frenkie de Jong (The Netherlands, Ajax/FC Barcelona)
Eden Hazard (Belgium, Chelsea/Real Madrid)
N’Golo Kante (France, Chelsea)
Toni Kroos (Germany, Real Madrid)
Arthur Melo (Brazil, FC Barcelona)
Luka Modric (Croatia, Real Madrid)
Paul Pogba (France, Manchester United)
Ivan Rakitic (Croatia, FC Barcelona)
Bernardo Silva (Portugal, Manchester City)
Dusan Tadic (Serbia, Ajax)
Arturo Vidal (Chile, FC Barcelona)

Forwards (15)

Sergio Aguero (Argentina, Manchester City)
Karim Benzema (France, Real Madrid)
Roberto Firmino (Brazil, Liverpool FC)
Antoine Griezmann (France, Atletico/FC Barcelona)
Harry Kane (England, Tottenham Hotspur)
Robert Lewandowski (Poland, Bayern Munich)
Sadio Mane (Senegal, Liverpool FC)
Kylian Mbappe (France, Paris Saint-Germain)
Lionel Messi (Argentina, FC Barcelona)
Neymar Junior (Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Juventus)
Mohamed Salah (Egypt, Liverpool FC)
Heung-Min Son (South-Korea, Tottenham Hotspur)
Raheem Sterling (England, Manchester City)
Luis Suarez (Uruguay, FC Barcelona)

More Stories David De Gea Manchester United Paul Pogba