United fans make more noise than any other club in the Premier League

Manchester United fans are the loudest in the Premier League, according to a new study by Press Association Sport.

This should put the prawn sandwich brigade myth to bed, although it would be naive to say there aren’t any fans that refuse to contribute to the match day atmosphere when in attendance. And that goes for local and international reds.

PA Sport ran the tests using the ‘Sound Meter’ smartphone application to gather results before naming the loudest Premier League club.

A source of Fans United, who are behind the Singing Section at Old Trafford, told Stretty News:

“As a group to help improve the atmosphere at Old Trafford, it’s great news hearing that the effort made by fans and the club over the past 18 months is paying off and progress is being made.

At Old Trafford the vocal Stretford End is now joined by those in J Stand who with those in K create a great cauldron of noise, not to mention the away supporters that add to that also.

“United have a great away following and no matter where United play our fans are there supporting the lads.”

You can follow @FansUnitedMUFC on Twitter and like their Facebook page for updates.

The standings in terms of decibels:

Manchester United – 167 decibels
Stoke – 161
Tottenham – 161
West Brom – 161
Chelsea – 160
Crystal Palace – 160
Arsenal – 159
Newcastle – 158
Burnley – 157
Hull – 157
Manchester City – 157
Swansea – 157
Everton – 156
Leicester – 156
QPR – 156
Sunderland – 156
Southampton – 156
Liverpool – 153
West Ham – 152
Aston Villa – 152

Loudest ground:

Old Trafford – 84 decibels
Britannia Stadium – 83
Emirates Stadium – 83
KC Stadium – 83
Stamford Bridge – 83
Etihad Stadium – 81
St James’ Park – 80
Goodison Park – 78
King Power Stadium – 78
St Mary’s – 78
Stadium of Light – 78
The Hawthorns – 78
White Hart Lane – 78
Villa Park – 78
Anfield – 77
Liberty Stadium – 76
Loftus Road – 76
Selhurst Park – 76
Turf Moor – 74
Upton Park – 74

More Stories Arsenal Aston Villa Burnley Chelsea Crystal Palace Everton Hull City Leicester Liverpool Manchester City Manchester United Newcastle QPR Southampton Stoke Sunderland Swansea Tottenham West Brom West Ham